Toll Free no. 18001802422   | Contact us  | Download Complaint App  |   Sitemap  |   Skip to Navigation  |   Skip to Main Content |   

Administrative set-up of Punjab

Punjab has 23 districts which are geographically classified into Majha, Malwa, Doaba and Poadh regions. They are officially divided among 5 divisions: Patiala, Rupnagar, Jalandhar, Faridkot and Firozepur.


  • Amritsar
  • Tarn Taran
  • Gurdaspur
  • Pathankot


  • Hoshiarpur
  • Kapurthala
  • Jalandhar
  • Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar (Nawanshahr)


  • Barnala
  • Bathinda
  • Ferozepur
  • Fazilka
  • Faridkot
  • Ludhiana
  • Moga
  • Mansa
  • Sri Muktsar Sahib
  • Patiala
  • Sangrur
  • Malerkotla


  • SAS Nagar (Mohali)
  • Rupnagar
  • Fatehgarh Sahib

Each district under the administrative control of a District Collector. The districts are subdivided into 79 tehsils, which have fiscal and administrative powers over settlements within their borders, including maintenance of local land records comes under the administrative control of a Tehsildar. Each Tehsil consists of blocks which are total 143 in number. The blocks consist of revenue villages. There are total number of revenue villages in the state is 12,278. There are 22 ZilaParishads, 136 Municipal Committees and 22 Improvement Trusts looking after 143 towns and 14 cities of Punjab. Majitha is newly created tehsil, which was formed in September 2016. Zirakpur is the latest sub-tehsil, in the district of Mohali.

The capital city of the state is Chandigarh and largest city of the state is Ludhiana. Out of total population of Punjab, 37.48% people live in urban regions. The absolute urban population living in urban areas is 10,399,146 of which 5,545,989 are males and while remaining 4,853,157 are females. The urban population in the last 10 years has increased by 37.48 percent. The major cities are Ludhiana, Amritsar, Jalandhar, Patiala, Bathinda and SAS Nagar (Mohali).